It’s Spring…..!!

Hello, Hello!

I don’t know about you, but up here in MN, IT IS GORGEOUS OUT!! To tell ya the truth, I’m wiggling in my chair just writing this because I want to go back outside! ūüôā It’s seriously over 70 degrees out, which is a heat wave in the Midwest..:) But, at least today’s post is ‘Spring Themed’ & outside-friendly since the Queen of my Craftroom’s Weekly Challenge this week was to make a ‘Spring Altered Project’.

I had a couple different of different ideas for this one – all centralized around an entry-way/front-walkway decoration; I’ve finally taken all my Winter Outside Decor down & replaced it with the pretty pastels of Spring, but I only have a couple items out there so far:) I do, though, have a soft pink/yellow/blue wreath out front, so that kind of served as inspiration for my color combo… but, I still wasn’t sure if I wanted to do a ‘plaque/wall hanging’ or an ‘altered birdhouse’… So, I decided to combine the 2 ideas & do an ‘Altered Birdhouse Wall Hanging’:) I saw this Mini-Birdhouse Trio Hanging at Michael’s & thought it’d fit perfectly with my idea!

The hanging was unfinished wood, so I made sure to sand it down nice & smooth before I did anything to it. In my experience, unfinished wood crafts usually are pretty rugged & won’t take paint well; they also make paper look bumpy & uneven when glued…. So, I’ve found sanding them down as much as you can helps in both of these departments:) After I was finished sanding, I taped off the metal connectors & the ‘tin’ roofs of the birdhouses, and¬†sprayed it down with White Spray Enamel; this was so it’d have a nice white base for the areas that I didn’t cover in paper. I let it dry over night, then brought out my trusty Mod Podge¬†& some Echo Park Paper ‘Springtime’, and went to work!:) This is what I came up with:

The daisies are from Martha Stewart Crafts, as is the butterfly punch; the picket fence and yellow flower are both from my ‘stash’ of ‘no-name-leftover-scraps’, lol, but otherwise, everything else is EP:) Hope you like it.. I think it turned out cute and works perfect for my front walkway:)

If you get a chance, hop over the QomC Blog to see what the other ladies came up with for Springtime Projects! ¬†I’m off to go play outside!!:)

Thanks for stopping by and God Bless!

~Carrie

PS – what do you think of my new blog theme..??.. I’ve been experimenting, but I think I’m going to stick with this one for a while… I think I like the clean, white background & colorful banner..:)

¬†¬†For lo, the winter is past,¬†The rain is over¬†and¬†gone.¬†12¬†The flowers appear on the earth;¬†The time of singing has come” ¬† ¬†Song of Solomon 2:11-12a

This entry was posted in Altered Art, Crafts, Decor, Design Team Projects and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

