Dear Lizzy and a Family Layout….

Hello, Hello! Today is Sunday, aka ‘Queen of my Craftroom’s Weekly Challenge’ Day, and I have a fun challenge to show you!  This week’s challenge is a Layout Challenge with a “Family” Theme – which is our first ‘layout’ challenge so far this year!  The prior Design Team Challenges have mainly been cards, with a couple Altered Projects mixed in for variation… and for those who know me, I am not a ‘Layout-Girl’… oh no, I am not one of scrapbookers that actually ‘Scrapbook’ in the true definition of the word. In fact, I’m going to be quite honest with you, this is my first true layout that I’ve done for myself:)  Again, it’s not because I like cards, mini albums, or altered projects better – it’s because I mainly craft to make things for others; and the things that I make them, I like for them to be able to put out and display…  if that makes sense..??.. However, since this week’s challenge was for a layout, I had to suck it up & create outside my box… and, surprise, surprise – I found I really enjoyed doing the layout!  (Now I’m just going to have to invest in some 12×12 shadow boxes so I can display my layouts, instead of stuffing them in a book on a shelf somewhere.. 🙂 )

Anyway, when I thought of what photos to use for this challenge, the first one that came to mind was a picture someone had taken at the end of my husband’s and my wedding; it was taken when we, with both our kids together, let loose a big bundle of balloons, with the symbolism of us all joining together as a family.  As I know I’ve stated before, I am much more a fan of candid photos, than posed; I like seeing real life in a picture, not a practiced smile – I think it says more…. So, when someone gave me this print, I fell in love with it, but haven’t had a chance to use it until now:)

So, here is my take on the Family Layout Challenge:

 (note: I did ‘Instagram’ edit the photos a bit – in fact, the reason I used both is that I couldn’t decide which edit I liked better..)


   

      

Products Used:

  • Bazzill Cardstock in ‘Avalanche’
  • Epoxy Pennants were made with Epiphany Craft’s Shape Studio ‘Pennant’ Shape Maker using ‘Neapolitan’ Paper  (this is easily my new favorite tool… Love It!)

I loved how the layout turned out – I think I’m actually going to submit it for 2 Peas in a Bucket’s ‘Dear Lizzy’ Challenge that’s currently open & use this layout to hit 2 birds with 1 stone:)  (You should go check ‘Dear Lizzy‘ out – the paper line is Yummy!)

Well, thanks for stopping by – be sure to hop over to Queen of my Craftroom and see what the other ladies have been up to this week:)

Here’s a little peek on what I’m working on now:

 

Adorable, right? One of my good friend’s wife is pregnant with their first & making Baby Gifts is definitely my favorite:) They turn out so cute! Almost makes me want another baby…  Almost…:)

Oh, and as a side note – My boys and I did finish their Echo Park ‘A Boys Life’ Brown PaperBag Mini Albums, but the weather’s been so icky up here in MN, that I have not been able to get a good ‘light’ day to take photos of them… and I refuse to shoot in artificial light – my projects never look right unless they’re shot in sunlight! Rule #1 of Art Photography:)

Enjoy the rest of the evening & God Bless

~Carrie

Proverbs 25:15  ‘Through patience a ruler can be persuaded, and a gentle tongue can break a bone.’

This entry was posted in Album, Layouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

