My awesome week… and a couple cards….

Hello! Hope everyone’s weekend is going well… So far mine has been quiet.. which is usually the case when all the kids are gone:) However, the peacefulness allows for some uninterrupted crafting – which is a beautiful thing… Last night I literally brought what I was working on into the living room, spread out over the middle of the floor, turned on a ‘Chick Flick’, and went to town on some cards while I munched on Pita Chips and drank a Coke:) I was completely in my Happy Place:)

This week was unusually, fabulously eventful, so I thought I’d share some of my week’s awesomeness, as well as some cards I finished up last night:)

First Item of Awesomeness: October Afternoon featured my ‘Grandparents Mini-Album‘ on their blog!!!! I know, right? OA will occasionally post a fan’s project from their Flickr gallery  that they find remarkable and feature it on their ‘Flickr Wednesday’ blog post… and they picked mine! Needless to say, I was completely stoked:) (You can check out the post ‘here‘.) Considering how much I adore OA and their designers, to me, it was an amazing honor..:) It went right up there with getting one of my cards published…:)

On to the Second Item of Awesomeness: due to the exposure of the First Item of Awesomeness, I was contacted by the fabulous owner of Scrapkit Studio to work with them on designing upcoming kits for their phenomenal mini-albums! If I was able to do the happy dance without hurting something or someone, I would of:) If you haven’t been over to their site to check them out, you have to – you will drool over the incredible mini-albums that these fantastic ladies come up with! Click ‘here‘ for Scrapkit Studio’s Site and ‘here‘ for their blog.

And, lastly, the Third Item of Awesomeness: I won one of Creating Keepsake’s Blog Giveaways! Now, I am one of those people that just doesn’t randomly win stuff very often, so this was a big deal to me… It was one of those ‘Comment on this blog post and you’ll be entered into a drawing for a giveaway..’, so I figured ‘What the heck?’… and I won:) The crazy thing is, it was for 2012 CHA trends, so the prize package that came a few days later literally was jammed full of brand new product – some of which wasn’t even released in stores yet! And when I say ‘jammed full’, I mean JAMMED full – there was well over $100 worth of stuff in there – 3 6×6 paper pads from Doodlebug, Webster Pages, & Studio Calico, tons of embellishments from LYB, AC, Studio Calico, Jillibean, etc, canvas pennant album, Bella Blvd Flag Sticks, ….. on and on…. It was unbelievable! My favorite product though, by far, was an Epiphany Crafts Pennant Shape Studio Tool… This thing rocks!  You can literally make epoxy pennant/banner shapes out of any paper you choose with one little click! I was in heaven! So, I’ll definatly be showcasing a lot of these prize-products in upcoming projects!

Anyway, on to some cards….

The 1st card I made is a Birthday Card I made for my sister-in-law using Webster Pages’ ‘Sunday Picnic’, which is an absolutely adorable new line that they released during this past winter’s CHA convention.

I made a simple accordion flower with a pearl center on the bottom for an added embellishment, and then added a couple kites from Martha Stewart Craft’s Line (after switching out their navy colored lines for a more neutral, beige-colored baker’s twine). I distressed the edges of most of the pieces with a variety of Tim Holtz’s Distress Inks – just to make the color pop a little more:) I love the whimsical feeling it ended up with, which I think is the whole theme of ‘Sunday Picnic’…. It fits my sister-in-law’s personality to a ‘T’:)

The next 2 are using one of my all time favorites, Echo Park🙂 I wanted to make a couple ‘Spring’ themed cards, since the never-ending Minnesota Winter is starting to get to me….. I need some sunshine!  Of course, EP’s ‘Springtime’ collection worked perfect for this:)

Both very simple, very easy cards. I used some Doodlebug ‘Bubblegum’ Twine on both to add some fun and texture. I think they turned out bright and colorful – sure to bring a smile to whomever I decide to send them to:)

Well, that’s all I have for you now… Go and enjoy the rest of your weekend:)  I’m off for pizza and a movie with my Hubby:)

I’ll be back tomorrow with Queen of My Craftroom‘s Weekly Challenge – this week is ‘All about the Bling!’ Here’s a little sneak peek of what I have in store for you:

Thanks for stopping by & God Bless!

~Carrie

 Galatians 5:22-23a But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.

This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My awesome week… and a couple cards….

  1. Melinda says:

    How very sweet of you, Carrie! A hearty WELCOME to the scrapkit design team! Glad I was able to scoop you up the minute I saw you on OA’s blog, otherwise someone else would have gotten you first! That’s fantastic that you won the box of goodies! Be sure to let me know how the epoxy penant tool works, because it’s now on my wishlist!
    Can’t wait to work with you! Tracy is excited too!

Leave a Reply

