October Afternoon ‘Sidewalks’ Mini-Album!!

So – I have finally completed my October Afternoon ‘Sidewalks’ Mini-Album!! Well, I actually had it done a few days ago, but I was still finishing off the ribbon embellishments on New Year’s Day when I actually gave it to my parents:) This was my first attempt at a mini-album, and let me tell ya… it was a lot harder than it looked! It all started when I picked up a chip board ‘notebook’ at October Afternoon’s Warehouse sale this past fall… looking back, I’m pretty sure it was meant to be just that – a notebook. It had a chipboard front & back cover, but otherwise it had ~25 pages of  regular journaling notebook paper between. Then, when I ordered OA’s ‘Sidewalks‘, I couldn’t decide what project I wanted to use it on – only that it had to be ‘good one’ since I was loving the collection:) I finally decided to attempt using it on a mini-album since all the ones I’ve seen look so adorable & fun! I know my mom adores her grandchildren, and, being a fellow crafter, really appreciates the time and energy that goes into making something for a gift – so I knew she’d love getting an album. And, since I couldn’t pick just one occasion as a main topic – I thought why not let the boys pick out all their favorite times with Grandpa & Grandma, and all the different things they love about them from A to Z:)

Now, those who know me, know that I’m not a big ‘scrapbooker’ – meaning, I love to make cards and created altered art/mixed media, but I’ve never been big into scrapbooking layouts and such, so this album-making was a pretty new to me… I did have fun making it, though, and it did go smoothly enough – only a couple snags on the way:) Mainly I just had some issues with the original wire binding of the notebook. I didn’t think the album would turn out so ‘chunky’ after all was said and done. Like I said above – the notebook was likely meant to be just a journaling notebook; it probably was meant to just have the front and back embellished, because the wire binding did not hold up well when I started doing all the pages. I unwound all the pages since I wanted them to appear complete and not have a white border edging all the sheets, but when I attempted to put all the pages back, they hardly fit. I mean, I couldn’t even try to close the book – the pages were busting out of the binding! So, I eventually substituted the wire binding with large clasped rings that I bought at Office Max and it definitely secured the pages much better… You still can’t close the book completely, but my mom liked how it looked just sitting open on a book stand, so all was good;)

Check out the pics below – I did take a photo of every page, so there’s quite a few to see:)

and, I did mainly use OA’s ‘Sidewalks’, but it was nice that the majority of OA’s lines complement each other so I could mix in some variety….

  

My boys & I think it turned out pretty cute and Grandpa & Grandma loved it:)

Hope you enjoyed!!

~Carrie

‘Grandchildren are the crown of the aged,  and the glory of children is their fathers.’ Proverbs 17:6

This entry was posted in Album, Altered Art, Crafts, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to October Afternoon ‘Sidewalks’ Mini-Album!!

  1. cardcraving says:

    Oh my. That is amazing! I love it.

  2. Maria T says:

    Just found your blog and I have to say that your album is amazing!!Love it!Great work!

  3. ~ Carrie ~ says:

    Thank You, Ladies:)

  4. Melinda says:

    Hi Carrie! I just saw your beautiful mini album today on the OA blog or their Facebook page; can’t remember which, and I just HAD to find you to see if there were more pics!! I Googled you, found your blog, and I am just breathless – this album is SOOOO CUTE, I can’t believe it! Actually, I can’t believe it’s your first mini album?? The detail is amazing, the journaling perfect, and who doesn’t love this paper line?! I have an online shop designing and selling mini albums, and if you ever want to design for me, you’re hired!! GREAT JOB!! Geez – I don’t think I’ll sleep tonight; I’ll be dreaming of this album!

  5. Pingback: My awesome week… and a couple cards…. « {candy~coated whimsical}

  6. elaine ramirez says:

    Your album is amazing! The details were great! I could see myself doing one for my granddaughter she would love one! Any suggestions? How happy grandma and grandpa must have felt not to mention they can treasure it for years to come

Leave a Reply

