Another Altered Frame….

Merry Christmas to all! I hope everyone had a Happy Holiday:)  I finally completed my ‘Holiday-Family-Gathering-Trifecta’ this evening – having started on Friday the 23rd, we’ve been at one of our family homes every night! I’m pretty close with my family & love visiting with them – however, this whole holiday season has been so jam packed with busy craziness, I have to admit that I’m a little relieved it’s over… Wrapping paper & project scraps have been cleaned up, leftover food put away, presents carried up to the bedrooms… it’s finally starting to calm down…. Or it just may feel like that since the boys are all off to their respective other parent’s house for the holiday vacation, so it’s very, very quiet in the house:) I have to admit, I do miss them when their gone, but I plan to keep busy getting some projects done! In fact, my new design team spot with ‘Queen of my Craftroom’ is starting next month, so I’m super stoked & thinking it’s time to get those January Projects cranked out – as well as finish some current ones:)

I was very happy that I managed to finish all but one of my projects I had planned as gifts this Christmas.  I tend to ‘over-estimate’ my time allowances when it comes to art/crafting and events/holidays; I get so many great ideas in my head – way more than physically possible to complete – and I want to do them all!  And I despise rushing thru a project, because the completed product will never turn out as good as it ‘could-have- if-I-didn’t-rush’… But, the ‘unfinished’ gift was actually mostly done, it just needed the journaling.. so, since it’s for my parents & their 43rd Wedding Anniversary is in less than a week, the gift magically turned into an ‘Anniversary Present’ and I’ll be finished with plenty of time to spare:)

Anyway, I know I had mentioned the frame I was making for my Step-Son to give to his mom for Christmas in my ‘Photo Editing‘ post, so I thought I’d share the final product today! I was really happy with the way it turned out & it was super easy to make… It literally took me less than 30 minutes once the frame was sanded/spray painted. It started out as an unfinished wood frame I bought at Michaels. I sanded the wood down with super-fine sandpaper, which is essential if your planning on spray painting and/or decoupaging it’s surface. This is because the smoother you can get the wood, the better the paint will take and the less wrinkled/more polished the decoupaged surface will look.  After sanding, I did 2 coats of white spray paint, allowing for a couple hour dry time in between coats.  (Note: I didn’t use a primer this instance purely due to lack of time & the lack of having any primer in the house at time of project initiation, but usually I will since it’ll prevent the wood from soaking up the spray paint so fast.)  I let the frame dry over night after the last coat & then used my Cricut to cut out the correct size of framed-squares. I dolloped on some Mod Podge on the back of the die-cut paper, applied each piece to corresponding frame, lightly coated top of paper with Mod Podge, allowed to dry 1-2 hours, and then sanded edges down for smooth, ‘rustic/vintage’ look. Voila! Frame Wall Hanging!

Before:

After:

I think it turned out really cute! I’m loving the B & W contrast of the pictures against the paper coloring. I used My Mind’s Eye ‘Stella & Rose ~ Hazel Papers’ as the paper collection & I really like how it all meshed together. The collection was not girly or gaudy, but also not too masculine or kiddish – I like to think of it as ‘sophisticated’:)

I hope you enjoyed the project inspiration and mini-tutorial:) Hope you have great Holiday Week!!

~Carrie

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”   Matthew 6:34

This entry was posted in Altered Art, Crafts, Decor, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

