A Couple More Christmas Presents Finished… Yea!!!

So – I’m up to my eyeballs in trying to get these Christmas Presents done! I’m thinking I’ll make it to the finish line on time, but it’s going to take some quick crafting to get it all done:) I’m just starting my ABC Mini Album for my boys’ present to Grandma & Grandpa – which I’m super excited about since I finally get to use October Afternoon‘s ‘Sidewalks’!!! (WhooHoo!) And I have both altered frames I’m doing, for my step-son’s mom & as a female exchange gift, decoupaged and drying… And I’ve got all my other Christmas presents purchased & wrapped – mostly purchased I should say..:) So, I thought I’d post a couple more presents that I’ve completed this past week to show you what I’ve been working on…

This first one is a 7gypsies Printer Tray that I made as a gift for my boys’ Dad for Christmas…  (you know how I love them Printer Trays…) Their Dad has an older son that has lived with him full-time since he was ~7, so my boys have grown up with him as a full-time older brother & are very close to him. Since the printer tray displayed a ‘Dad’ theme, I thought it was only appropriate to add his picture as well; it was good that he just graduated this past year & my boys’ Grandmother was able to send me his Graduation Pictures, or else I’d have been stuck trying to get a ‘professional’ looking picture for him. My Dad and I set up a mini-photo session in my parent’s living room one night and took the other 2 pictures – well, he took them & I directed posing – but I think they turned out adorable:) I did an ‘Antique/HiContrast’ edit with iPhoto to coincide with the rich coloring of the paper I used, which was ‘Autumn Splendor’ from We R Memory Keepers; I think it blended well… I chose the paper collection because I knew it would go with their Dad’s decor & it was masculine to a point, but not over the top – plus, my oldest picked it out:) Actually, my oldest has an artist streak in him & helped quite a bit with this project – he had a blast & loved how it turned out:)

Here are some close-ups:

 

I made the accordion flowers – didn’t they turn out cute? You can find a great tutorial here if interested…

The second project is another Altered Birdhouse using another one of fabulous Echo Park‘s Collections: Springtime! This was actually not a planned project – kinda spur of the moment… The story goes like this: My Mom is a garden-y/nature kinda gal… She likes to grow flowers.. and take pictures of round barns… etc.. you get my drift. But, she also has a number of birdhouses on her deck & around her 4-season porch, so… when she saw the previous birdhouse I did for my Mother-in-Law, she wondered out-loud when I was going to do one for her – but in softer colors so it’d match her porch.. 🙂 Who can say ‘no’ to their Mom? Not me.. My Mom rocks, so of course I’m going to do a birdhouse for her! Only in softer colors, so it’ll match her porch…:)

Some close-ups..

 

I think it turned out cute – bright and cheery, which is I think what my mom wanted… I guess we’ll see come Christmas Eve:)

If you follow my blog, I’m sure you’ve noticed I love crazy, decorative gift wrapping:) so, I thought I’d add a small tidbit of a little gift I wrapped last night using Crate Paper‘s ‘Snowday’:) Enjoy!

I hope you picked up some inspiration checking out my projects! Have a great rest of the week!!

~Carrie

‘I can do all things through Him who strengthens me’ Phillippians 4:13

This entry was posted in Altered Art, Crafts, Decor, Gift Packaging, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Couple More Christmas Presents Finished… Yea!!!

  1. April says:

    Love these! The birdhouse is so cute. I am going to have to check out these papers-I am doing my baby’s nursery in bird’s and that fits the color scheme perfectly.

  2. Pingback: January Flickr roundup part two. - Mod Podge Rocks

Leave a Reply

