Ornament Wreath

Happy Friday!!!

I’m one of those people who is more into the bright, fun non-traditional colors of Christmas… I re-did my tree this year in the hot pinks, blues, oranges and lime greens & absolutely love it! However, when my youngest son and I were going thru the outside decorations, I realized what I had wasn’t really meshing with my theme. But, I saw this ‘Bulb Wreath’ in those same multi-colors at Target & I really liked it, but it was $20, which wasn’t worth it for me – so of course, the first thing out of my husband’s mouth was, ‘You can make that’… So I did!

I picked up a whole bunch of different size bulbs at Micheals after their Black Friday Sale: they were marked half off & I had a 40% off coupon, so dirt cheap! I ended up using ~20 large bulbs, ~30 medium, & ~ 40 small bulbs.  A little hint though, I had bought a wire wreath that I was just going to hot glue the bulbs to in some haphazard fashion, but after trial-running it, it was much easier to do the whole ‘wire-hanger’ wreath I had seen so much when I Googled ‘Ornament Wreath… Plus, using a wire hanger gave me the chunky ‘non-conformed’ look I was going for….

Couple Hints: 1) glue the tops on the bulbs BEFORE you start, or they will be popping off when you’re stringing them   2) use plastic bulbs! (I had 1 set of glass bulbs & my husband accidentally shattered 2 of them trying to help me cut wire when I was done:( )   3) I found the bulbs kept shifting after I arranged them the way I wanted, so I found dabbing some hot glue in hidden spots helps them stay put:)    This is the site I found that gave the best tutorial for me: http://tiffanyinreallife.blogspot.com/2011/11/holiday-ornament-wreath-tutorial.html

Here is the final product!

Isn’t it bright and fun?

I did make the bow – simply looped some ribbon around a center & secured with some wire…. I can’t really give more instruction than that, since I literally just messed with it until it looked the way I wanted it to… 😉

This is the Target Wreath that gave me the inspiration to make my wreath:

Honestly? I think I like my wreath more… 🙂

Anyway, hope you liked my new holiday decor – I think it’s going on my front walkway..:)

Have an Awesome Weekend! I’m off the finish up some Christmas Shopping:)

~Carrie

This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ornament Wreath

  1. Chris says:

    Carrie, that is unbelievably awesome!! I love it! Will you make me one for Christmas?

  2. Pingback: Winter-Themed Paper Wreath…. « {candy~coated whimsical}

Leave a Reply

