It’s a ‘Dear Lizzy’ kinda day……

 Hello! I hope everyone is doing well! I know I’m doing better than I thought I’d be doing at this point in time:) For those who know my current situation, I did have my back surgery last Tuesday, and, as my surgeon put it, everything went ‘textbook’:) So, that’s good news and an awesome answer to prayer:)… So, now it’s  just trying to recuperate and get back to baseline – thank goodness I have my hobbies to keep my mind busy:)
Since the weather is improving and spring colors are coming out to play, I thought I’d do a post on one of my all time ‘Springy’ favorites – American Craft’s ‘Dear Lizzy’ Collections! I fell in love with it’s designer, Elizabeth Kartchner, and her new Dear Lizzy – Spring Line when it debuted at 2010 Winter CHA – her display for that show is actually what inspired my current LR decor:) And her new ‘Neapolitian’ that came out with this most recent CHA show in Cali is absolutely gorgeous as well! The colors are soft and bright and cheery – all at the same time! I love this line so much, I’ve almost taken to hoarding it, lol! I’ve used it once so far, on my ‘Family Love’ Layout a while back, but other wise, I almost just want to save it and just bring it out to look at every now and then…:) Weird, I know, but… what can I say? :) I’m a sparkly-paper-hoarding-freak…:)
However, one of my sister-in-law’s birthdays was this past week, and I decided I’d bring out the ‘Neapolitan’ for her… Due to the fact that she’s one of those people that basically emanates sunshine on a regular basis & is overall just a nice person, I deemed her worth for use of the beloved collection…, lol:) So, check out her Birthday Card below….
I liked how it turned out – whimsical and soft, but still bright and cheery:)
And…. since I’m posting about ‘Dear Lizzy’, I thought I’d show the decor I mentioned earlier as well. For the Winter 2010 CHA show, Dear Lizzy set up a display with American Craft’s Booth that I just loved! Here are a couple pics:
  
 I know, right? I Love This!! So, when I found a whole bunch of old picture frames in storage, with a couple more found at thrift sales, I got inspired:) I have a little corner in my LR where my Mac sits on a glass desk up against a light sage colored wall, with all white trim…. Now, I’m a big re-use/re-do craft person for storage containers, so I have a whole bunch of Mod-Podge/Sparkly Paper altered checkbook boxes on my desk, along with other ‘girly’ things, so I thought something like the above display would be an easy and cute ‘dress-up’ for the wall! So, I picked up some white enamel spray after sanding down my old frames and refinished them in shiny white. I then used a couple of Dear Lizzy’s Fabric Sheets, with adhesive backing, that are from her first ‘Spring’ line, and set them in the old frames – cutting and rearranging where needed. Then I hung them up in a random, but balanced, fashion on the one wall! I think they turned out so cute! And super easy and inexpensive! Check out the pics below – I apologize for the less-than-stellar photos! It was hard to get the best lighting when the frames are hanging on my best light-source wall…:)
 
  
I think it turned out cute!!
I still have an empty ‘vintage window pane/frame’ I found at an old ‘Barn Sale’ that I’m thinking I may add in my LR somehow too…. I found these 2 ideas for the window frame that I love as well:
  
….and both use Dear Lizzy! (Click on the individual picture to link up with the original project for each one) 
So many adorable ideas…. and so little time…:)
Well, I think that’s all I have for ya’ll tonight…. Plus, my husband just brought me dinner:)
Have a great night & TFL!
God Bless -
~Carrie

Psalm 30:2 Lord my God, I called to you for help, and you healed me.

This entry was posted in Altered Art, Cards, Decor, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It’s a ‘Dear Lizzy’ kinda day……

  1. Modmissy says:

    Thanks for sharing and all the best on your back surgery.

  2. thanks so much~~ you are the sweetest!

    so glad that everything went well with your surgery. xoxo

  3. ps love your designs and the tag with the sticker inside… so cute!

  4. ~ carrie ~ says:

    Thanks so much, Liz! Always a fabulous compliment to get a compliment from the designer…. :)

  5. Beautiful!!! What imaginative artwork!!! I hope you feel better soon :-)

  6. alicecarman says:

    Super duper cute! Wishing you speedy recovery!

Leave a Reply

